May the word of the Lord fill you with love and bring you peace.

St. Thomas

Learn more about St. Thomas: http://www.catholic.org/saints/saint.php?saint_id=410

Link to today’s readings: http://usccb.org/bible/readings/070317.cfm

Thomas, called Didymus, one of the Twelve, was not with them when Jesus came. So the other disciples said to him, “We have seen the Lord.” But Thomas said to them, “Unless I see the mark of the nails in his hands and put my finger into the nailmarks and put my hand into his side, I will not believe.” Now a week later his disciples were again inside and Thomas was with them. Jesus came, although the doors were locked, and stood in their midst and said, “Peace be with you.” Then he said to Thomas, “Put your finger here and see my hands, and bring your hand and put it into my side, and do not be unbelieving, but believe.” Thomas answered and said to him, “My Lord and my God!” Jesus said to him, “Have you come to believe because you have seen me? Blessed are those who have not seen and have believed.” 

Do you ever wonder how Thomas could doubt the resurrection of Jesus after spending so much time with Him? He knew Jesus so well, yet he doubted. Is it any wonder that we sometimes doubt? Yet we have the Word of God, history, eyewitness accounts and 2,000+ years of experience to see who He was and believe in what He did. We are more blessed than Thomas because we believe without seeing.

Prayer: Heavenly Father, would I have been like Thomas doubting your resurrection? I pray that I could have trusted as easily as I now trust in you. I pray for those Lord who cannot believe because they cannot see. May their eyes and hearts be opened to your truth. In Jesus’ holy name, Amen. 

Go out to all the world and tell the Good News.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

