May the word of the Lord fill you with love and bring you peace.

 Giving us Eucharist

Learn more about the Solemnity of the Body and Blood of Christ: http://www.catholicculture.org/culture/liturgicalyear/calendar/day.cfm?date=2017-06-18

 Link to today’s readings: http://usccb.org/bible/readings/061817.cfm

Jesus said to the Jewish crowds: “I am the living bread that came down from heaven; whoever eats this bread will live forever; and the bread that I will give is my flesh for the life of the world.” 

The Jews quarreled among themselves, saying, “How can this man give us his flesh to eat?” Jesus said to them, “Amen, amen, I say to you, unless you eat the flesh of the Son of Man and drink his blood, you do not have life within you. Whoever eats my flesh and drinks my blood has eternal life, and I will raise him on the last day. For my flesh is true food, and my blood is true drink. Whoever eats my flesh and drinks my blood remains in me and I in him. Just as the living Father sent me and I have life because of the Father, so also the one who feeds on me will have life because of me. This is the bread that came down from heaven. Unlike your ancestors who ate and still died, whoever eats this bread will live forever.” 

Many people left Him when He said this. He did not call them back and tell them it was a misunderstanding, or that it was only a symbol. He was speaking of His body and blood. A gift that so many do not believe in today. How can you not believe? How can you NOT believe He would give us a way to partake of the true food and true drink? How can you take the word of the Lord seriously, but NOT this? Why? His Apostles did. Do you know more than those who walked with Him?

Prayer: Heavenly Father, the gift of the body and blood of Jesus is one of the greatest gifts you gave us. I cannot have a more personal relationship with Jesus than by partaking of Him daily. I pray, Lord, that those who do not believe will come to know you and trust that your word is truth, not a symbol. In Jesus’ holy name, Amen!

Praise the Lord, Jerusalem, Alleluia!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

