May the word of the Lord fill you with love and bring you peace.

Link to today’s readings: http://usccb.org/bible/readings/061717.cfm

Jesus said to his disciples: “You have heard that it was said to your ancestors, Do not take a false oath, but make good to the Lord all that you vow. But I say to you, do not swear at all; not by heaven, for it is God’s throne; nor by the earth, for it is his footstool; nor by do, for it is the city of the great King. Do not swear by your head, for you cannot make a single hair white or black. Let your ‘Yes’ mean ‘Yes,’ and your ‘No’ mean ‘No.’ Anything more is from the Evil One.” 

How many people break their promises today? How many say yes when they mean no? Have we become less reliable than in the days of Jesus or do we just find lying an easy out? When we do not tell the truth we are betraying Our Lord. Our words should be our code of honor, who we are and what we stand for. If we lie, what does that say about us? How often do you find yourself lying for an easy out? What does that say about you?

Prayer: Heavenly Father, I cannot lie to you. You are there when I open my mouth, you see me as I commit sins that offend you. How can I lie to you? Help me to carry that into my every day interaction with those around me. I want people to see you when they are around me, not a liar. In Jesus’ holy name, Amen!

The Lord is kind and merciful

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

