May the word of the Lord fill you with love and bring you peace.

Link to today’s readings: http://usccb.org/bible/readings/040617.cfm

When Abram prostrated himself, God spoke to him: “My covenant with you is this: you are to become the father of a host of nations. No longer shall you be called Abram; your name shall be Abraham, for I am making you the father of a host of nations. I will render you exceedingly fertile; I will make nations of you; kings shall stem from you. I will maintain my covenant with you and your descendants after you throughout the ages as an everlasting pact, to be your God and the God of your descendants after you. I will give to you and to your descendants after you the land in which you are now staying, the whole land of Canaan, as a permanent possession; and I will be their God.”

God also said to Abraham: “On your part, you and your descendants after you must keep my covenant throughout the ages.”

Abraham said yes to God. He committed his family and all his descendants to honoring and keeping God’s commandments. Today Catholics and others baptize our infants, agreeing as Abraham did, that our future descendants will be brought up in God’s law and commandments. It is not about the child making a personal choice. We choose for our children, raise them in the faith and expect them to claim it as their own. Just as Abraham did.

Prayer: Heavenly Father, thank you for a mother who had me baptized as a baby, committed me to you and brought me up in your faith. Thanks to her faith, even when I strayed, I still came home. In Jesus’ name, I give you thanks and honor for your promise and hers, Amen.

The Lord remembers his covenant forever.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

