May the word of the Lord fill you with love and bring you peace.

 Link to today’s readings: http://usccb.org/bible/readings/021617.cfm

Jesus and his disciples set out for the villages of Caesarea Philippi. Along the way he asked his disciples, “Who do people say that I am?” They said in reply, “John the Baptist, others Elijah, still others one of the prophets.” And he asked them, “But who do you say that I am?” Peter said to him in reply, “You are the Christ.” Then he warned them not to tell anyone about him.

He began to teach them that the Son of Man must suffer greatly and be rejected by the elders, the chief priests, and the scribes, and be killed, and rise after three days. He spoke this openly. Then Peter took him aside and began to rebuke him. At this he turned around and, looking at his disciples, rebuked Peter and said, “Get behind me, Satan. You are thinking not as God does, but as human beings do.”

“…You are thinking not as God does, but as human beings do.” This is such an important statement and we do not pay enough attention to it anymore. We tend to put God in our box, thinking and saying that God would not do that because… We think like humans, not like God – which we cannot do, but we credit God’s abilities with our own. We need to remember that God can and does things we cannot even comprehend. Do you put God in a box of your making?

Prayer: Heavenly Father, I have learned not to put you in my box! I know your ways are far beyond mine and I know you can do things I cannot even begin to think possible. I give you praise Lord for all that you do in my life and the lives of all those around me! In Jesus’ holy name, Amen!

From heaven the Lord looks down on the earth.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

