May the word of the Lord fill you with love and bring you peace.

St. Therese of Lisieux-Child Jesus

Learn more of St. Therese of the Child Jesus: http://www.catholic.org/saints/saint.php?saint_id=105

 Link to today’s readings: http://usccb.org/bible/readings/100116.cfm

The seventy-two disciples returned rejoicing and said to Jesus, “Lord, even the demons are subject to us because of your name.” Jesus said, “I have observed Satan fall like lightning from the sky. Behold, I have given you the power ‘to tread upon serpents’ and scorpions and upon the full force of the enemy and nothing will harm you. Nevertheless, do not rejoice because the spirits are subject to you, but rejoice because your names are written in heaven.”

At that very moment he rejoiced in the Holy Spirit and said, “I give you praise, Father, Lord of heaven and earth, for although you have hidden these things from the wise and the learned you have revealed them to the childlike. Yes, Father, such has been your gracious will. All things have been handed over to me by my Father. No one knows who the Son is except the Father, and who the Father is except the Son and anyone to whom the Son wishes to reveal him.”

Turning to the disciples in private he said, “Blessed are the eyes that see what you see. For I say to you, many prophets and kings desired to see what you see, but did not see it, and to hear what you hear, but did not hear it.”

If you consider yourself a Disciple of Christ then you must believe that you also have the power given to the original Disciples. Jesus has given us all the power, if we choose to use it, because He has revealed Himself to us. We know who He is, we cannot deny that He has made known the Father to us.  Do you choose to accept and to use this power? Or do you think it is beyond you? Take it to Jesus and the Holy Spirit, ask them to show you that power. But, be prepared to have your life changed.

 Prayer: Heavenly Father, you dramatically changed my life when I said yes to the powers you wanted to give me. I thank you for the gifts you have given to me and the world that you have opened up to me. May I always use your gifts for your praise, honor and glory. Amen!

Lord, let your face shine on me.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

