May the word of the Lord fill you with love and bring you peace.

Calling of St. Matthew

Learn more about St. Matthew: http://www.catholic.org/saints/saint.php?saint_id=84

 Link to today’s readings: http://usccb.org/bible/readings/092116.cfm

As Jesus passed by, he saw a man named Matthew sitting at the customs post.

He said to him, “Follow me.” And he got up and followed him. While he was at table in his house, many tax collectors and sinners came and sat with Jesus and his disciples. The Pharisees saw this and said to his disciples, “Why does your teacher eat with tax collectors and sinners?” He heard this and said, “Those who are well do not need a physician, but the sick do. Go and learn the meaning of the words, I desire mercy, not sacrifice. I did not come to call the righteous but sinners.”

What joyous news! Christ came for you and me – sinners not those who think they do not need saving. If you are like me, you know that you need Christ in your life. I am not perfect and will not be perfected until I go through purgation prior to entering Heaven. What do you believe?

Prayer: Heavenly Father, thank you for coming to save me. I try very hard to follow your word, be merciful and forgiving to others. But, Lord, I know how often I fail. My belief tells me that you are always there, waiting for me to come to you, confess my sins and receive your mercy. I offer you praise through your Son and my Savior, Jesus Christ.

Their message goes out through all the earth.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

