May the word of the Lord fill you with love and bring you peace.

Passion of John the Baptist

Learn more about the Passion of St. John the Baptist: http://www.catholicculture.org/culture/liturgicalyear/calendar/day.cfm?date=2014-08-29

 Link to today’s readings: http://www.usccb.org/bible/readings/082916.cfm

When I came to you, brothers and sisters, proclaiming the mystery of God, I did not come with sublimity of words or of wisdom. For I resolved to know nothing while I was with you except Jesus Christ, and him crucified. I came to you in weakness and fear and much trembling, and my message and my proclamation were not with persuasive words of wisdom, but with a demonstration of spirit and power, so that your faith might rest not on human wisdom but on the power of God.

It is not always the words you use. If you proclaim the truth, it comes through with your actions, your honesty and your integrity. Your heart will shine through with the truth. The Holy Spirit will do the work, you just plant the seeds. Have you planted any seeds today?

Prayer: Heavenly Father, help me to be a seed planter. May I lay your groundwork in the hearts of those who are lukewarm or do not believe. I trust, Lord, that you will do the rest, in Jesus’ most holy and gracious name, Amen.

Lord, I love your commands.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

