May the word of the Lord fill you with love and bring you peace.

St. Benedict Fra Angelico

Learn more about St. Benedict: http://usccb.org/bible/readings/071116.cfm

  Read the Rule of St. Benedict: http://www.osb.org/rb/

Link to today’s readings: http://usccb.org/bible/readings/071116.cfm

When you come in to visit me, who asks these things of you? Trample my courts no more! Bring no more worthless offerings; your incense is loathsome to me. New moon and sabbath, calling of assemblies, octaves with wickedness: these I cannot bear. Your new moons and festivals I detest; they weigh me down, I tire of the load. When you spread out your hands, I close my eyes to you; Though you pray the more, I will not listen. Your hands are full of blood! Wash yourselves clean! Put away your misdeeds from before my eyes; cease doing evil; learn to do good. Make justice your aim: redress the wronged, hear the orphan’s plea, defend the widow.

St. Benedict starts his rule of life with these words “Listen carefully my child to the instruction of your Master” The same as God spoke to Sodom and Gomorrah. They did not listen, just as we do not listen today. Read The Rule of St. Benedict. If you follow his teachings you will follow the laws of God. Listen to what He has to say to you and you will be saved.

Prayer: Heavenly Father, thank you for the wisdom of St. Benedict. His Rule makes sense of your words and helps me to stay on your path. In Jesus’ holy name, I give you praise, Amen!

To the upright I will show the saving power of God.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

