May the word of the Lord fill you with love and bring you peace.

St. Isaac Jogues and Companions

Learn more about Sts. de Brebeuf and Jogues and Companions: http://www.americancatholic.org/Features/Saints/saint.aspx?id=1173

 Link to today’s readings: http://usccb.org/bible/readings/101915.cfm

Someone in the crowd said to Jesus, “Teacher, tell my brother to share the inheritance with me.” He replied to him, “Friend, who appointed me as your judge and arbitrator?” Then he said to the crowd, “Take care to guard against all greed, for though one may be rich, one’s life does not consist of possessions.” 

Then he told them a parable. “There was a rich man whose land produced a bountiful harvest. He asked himself, ‘What shall I do, for I do not have space to store my harvest?’ And he said, ‘This is what I shall do: I shall tear down my barns and build larger ones. There I shall store all my grain and other goods and I shall say to myself, “Now as for you, you have so many good things stored up for many years, rest, eat, drink, be merry!”’ But God said to him, ‘You fool, this night your life will be demanded of you; and the things you have prepared, to whom will they belong?’ Thus will it be for the one who stores up treasure for himself but is not rich in what matters to God.” 

Do you try to own more than you need? Do you buy more than you need, just to have it? Are your possession’s more important than your soul? If you have wealth, you need to share it with those who need it. You do not know when your time will come, and when it does, what good will possessions be? How rich is your soul? What have you done to enrich your heart and soul? That is what the Lord will look at. Use wealth cautiously and for the benefit of others. 

Prayer: Heavenly Father, my wealth lies in you. The money I have on this earth is to be used for your purpose not mine. Help me to always remember that. In Jesus’ holy and glorious name, Amen. 

Blessed be the Lord, the God of Israel; he has come to his people.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

