May the word of the Lord fill you with love and bring you peace.

Birth of John the Baptist

Learn more about the Nativity of John the Baptist: http://www.catholic.org/saints/saint.php?saint_id=152

 Link to today’s readings: http://usccb.org/bible/readings/062415-day.cfm

In those days, Paul said: “God raised up David as king; of him God testified, I have found David, son of Jesse, a man after my own heart; he will carry out my every wish. From this man’s descendants God, according to his promise, has brought to Israel a savior, Jesus. John heralded his coming by proclaiming a baptism of repentance to all the people of Israel; and as John was completing his course, he would say, ‘What do you suppose that I am? I am not he. Behold, one is coming after me; I am not worthy to unfasten the sandals of his feet.’ 

“My brothers, sons of the family of Abraham, and those others among you who are God-fearing, to us this word of salvation has been sent.” 

John knew who he was. He knew that what he did was important to the salvation of many, but he was humble in all that he did. He never confused his hearers by making false claims. He brought the message that Christ was coming, just as we need to do. Does your humility allow you to make way for Jesus?  

Prayer: Heavenly Father, may I be like John the Baptist in his humility and proclaiming your word. May your praise be always on my lips. In Jesus’ holy name, Amen. 

I praise you, for I am wonderfully made.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

