May the word of the Lord fill you with love and bring you peace.

Link to today’s readings: http://usccb.org/bible/readings/051015.cfm

Jesus said to his disciples: “As the Father loves me, so I also love you. Remain in my love. If you keep my commandments, you will remain in my love, just as I have kept my Father’s commandments and remain in his love. 

“I have told you this so that my joy may be in you and your joy might be complete. This is my commandment: love one another as I love you. No one has greater love than this, to lay down one’s life for one’s friends. You are my friends if you do what I command you. I no longer call you slaves, because a slave does not know what his master is doing. I have called you friends, because I have told you everything I have heard from my Father. It was not you who chose me, but I who chose you and appointed you to go and bear fruit that will remain, so that whatever you ask the Father in my name he may give you. This I command you: love one another.” 

Who do you love in your life? Do you love only those who love you? That is not what Jesus is telling us. We are to love everyone – as much as He loves us. How hard is that for you? Can you love those who do not love you? The ones you avoid because they make you feel uncomfortable, ill at ease? We are commanded to love everyone, not given the option to pick and choose. God loves everyone, it is our task to see them as He does and not love only those who make us feel comfortable.  

Prayer: Heavenly Father, help me to love others as you do, to see them as you do. In Jesus’ holy name I ask for this grace, Amen. 

The Lord has revealed to the nations his saving power, Alleluia!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

