May the word of the Lord fill you with love and bring you peace.

Link to today’s readings: http://usccb.org/bible/readings/012315.cfm

Brothers and sisters: Now our high priest has obtained so much more excellent a ministry as he is mediator of a better covenant, enacted on better promises. 

For if that first covenant had been faultless, no place would have been sought for a second one. But he finds fault with them and says:  

Behold, the days are coming, says the Lord, when I will conclude a new covenant with the house of Israel and the house of Judah. It will not be like the covenant I made with their fathers the day I took them by the hand to lead them forth from the land of Egypt; for they did not stand by my covenant and I ignored them, says the Lord. But this is the covenant I will establish with the house of Israel after those days, says the Lord: I will put my laws in their minds and I will write them upon their hearts. I will be their God, and they shall be my people. And they shall not teach, each one his fellow citizen and kin, saying, “Know the Lord,” for all shall know me, from least to greatest. For I will forgive their evildoing and remember their sins no more. 

When he speaks of a “new” covenant, he declares the first one obsolete. And what has become obsolete and has grown old is close to disappearing. 

Christ came to establish a new covenant in this world. A covenant of love. He stands firm in His promise to us, we are His people. Do you embrace the covenant that the Lord has created? He is just waiting for you to come to Him, He is ready to forgive our sins and bring us to Him for eternity. 

Prayer: Heavenly Father, thank you for the new covenant your Son Jesus brought to us. Your love and grace is all we need for eternal life. Help me to always embrace you and your covenant. In Jesus’ holy name, Amen. 

Kindness and truth shall meet.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

